Main

     Main Menu

 

     Band
     Biography
     Awards

 

     Video
     Audio
     Multimedia
     Gallery

 

     Lyrics
     Song Interpretations
     Chords
     Forgery songs

 

     Discography
     Videography
     Discs scans
     Song list

 

     Articles
     Gigs
     Band letters

 

     Forum
     Guestbook
     Cran-Confession
     Links
     Site Team

 

     Log in
     Map

Last

Band letters 1998


Back to Main Menu

Dolores letters | Letters 1998 | Letters 1999 | Letters 2000 | Letters 2001 | Letters 2002 | Letters 2003

January 29th 1998

Alright then, where to start!?! The last you would have heard was that we had cut our tour short in September 1996 as a result of Dolores’ dodgy knee acting up again. It was a pity we had to finish early but I think under it all we were glad to get a chance to rest. We had been going flat out for nearly five years and everyone was feeling well worn out!! We decided to take a six month vacation to give us a chance to get our personal lives back in order and generally chill out.

In December ‘96 , Dolores recorded a song for the movie “The Devil’s Own”, and in February ‘97 Noel and herself recorded “Go Your Own Way” for a Fleetwood Mac tribute album. I got married on April 16th (best day of my life), and two weeks later we all went to Dolores’ house in Dingle to begin rehearsing some new stuff.

We continued rehearsing for the next few months and in October ‘97 we went to Metalworks Studios in Toronto, to record some demos, with Dolores in a fully pregnant state!!.

We spent two and a half weeks there and we recorded five new songs which we were really happy with. It’s hard to explain what they sound like but some of our friends say the songs remind them of the first album, but you will just have to wait and see….

In November ‘97, Dolores had a 7lb 6oz bouncing baby boy, she named Taylor. Yahoo! Crack open the champagne!

We are currently in Toronto doing some more recording and then in May we are going to the south of France to record album no.4.

__________________________________________________________________

January 29th 1998

Here we are in Metalworks Studios, October 97

Mike is getting married to his girlfriend of eight years on July 6th, more to follow on that shortly. Well that’s about it for now, tune in soon for more “Latest News” straight from the horses mouth!!! SLAN!

- Fergal.

__________________________________________________________________

A Subnote: Welcome to our own “official” web site! To be honest, none of us (the band) are into computers very much, as we have always had a bit of “technophobia”, but I learned of the Internet recently(!) through some friends who are online(?), and they gave me a guided tour. I explained a bit about it to Dolores, Noel and Mike, and we decided to set up a page of our own, and I’ve gotten lumped with the job of being spokesperson! (for now anyway). So, all I ask, is that you bear with us, we are new to this game; but we will try to make it as interesting as possible , and to update you with new information as soon as we get it.

- Fergal

__________________________________________________________________

March 12th 1998

Ok we’re home, all went well in Toronto, we did a weeks rehearsal and then we demo’d eight new songs over the next nine days. They are sounding pretty good, but they are still quite rough.Unfortunately I can’t give you the names of any songs yet, as they are still at quite an early stage and with new songs emerging all the time, we’re not quite sure which ones will make the album.So, please be patient!

We are now rehearsing in Limerick, and we are constantly writing new songs. We go to France on the 3rd of May for 2 months to record our new album. We have no immediate plans to tour, but we have been talking about maybe doing a few one off shows here and there, because we are “mad” to play live. (that’s the Limerick way of saying we are really looking forward to it!)

We are just recovering from Dolores’ son, Taylors’ Christening, which was last Saturday the 7th of March. It was a great day and Noel and his wife stood as godparents. (Dolores has promised to show you a picture of Taylor very soon , right here on this site!)

Also coming soon will be a full listing of previous tours , where we will try as best as possible to list them all. Also a section where we answer some of your most frequent questions.

We would like to thank you all for your great response to this site, and thank you for your encouragement; we are now becoming more “technically aware” of how this web stuff works.

Slan!
-Fergal

__________________________________________________________________

March 16th 1998

News just in! We have been offered to do a song for the upcoming “X-Files” movie, and we are going to Dublin to record it next week! We haven’t decided which song is going to be used as it isn’t finished yet.

On behalf of Dolores, Noel, Mike and myself we wish you a happy St. Patrick’s Day! Be seen in green!

Bye
-Fergal.

__________________________________________________________________

April 1st 1998

We finished recording the song for the upcoming “X-Files” movie; and it is called “What’s On My Mind” (written by Dolores). We co-produced it at Windmill Lane Studios, Dublin with Ben Fenner. He will be co-producing the new album with us in France this summer.

Amongst the artist that Ben has previously worked with are: The Kinks, James ….and various others.

We are back home in Limerick (again), rehearsing and putting more new songs together. That’s all for now!

Slan,
-Fergal

__________________________________________________________________

April 27th 1998

This past weekend featured Mike’s “Stag Party”, which traditionally is what we do in Ireland before one gets married. It’s a boys only affair, and basically the one getting married (Mike) and his buddies leave town for a couple of days and just party! And party we did, it was a thoroughly enjoyable weekend, and much of that famous black Irish beer was consumed! All the involved are reportedly recovering well today………

Thanks very much for all the email you are sending us! Your encouragement has been overwhelming! Thanks a lot! Please understand that it is really difficult for me or any of the other band members to reply to you in person,..we would have to leave the band and answer mail full time! Well, it’s not that bad, but you know what I mean! We do read them all, and you’ll probably find the most frequently asked questions answered in the FAQ section.

The promised photo of Dolores’ son is still on the way!

It shouldn’t be much longer! I suppose there won’t be much more news for a while, we will be in France for about two months. We can’t wait to get recording, everyone’s really excited!

So, until then, it’s bye for now!
Slan!

-Fergal.

__________________________________________________________________

May 11th 1998

Since May 3rd we are all here in France working away on the new album. It is very beautiful here, I must say. Things are moving along nicely. We are expecting to release it around September, and of course as soon as we know something more exact, you will find out here. We received a lot of mail (thanks!) enquiring whether or not the song that we recorded for the “X-Files” movie, was still going to be used. Unfortunately, that didn’t work out, and the song will not be part of the soundtrack. Sorry to all of you that were looking forward to hearing it. Hopefully the release of the new album will compensate. It won’t be too long now.

That’s all for the moment. Thanks for your continuing support!

Bye for now! Au revoir!

- Fergal.

__________________________________________________________________

June 2nd 1998

Still here in France,and all is going well. We have recorded about ten songs, and are very happy with the results so far. We plan to stay here until the end of this month, then we will have a short break, after which we will continue work on the new album, in London. In all, we plan to fully record a total of 20 songs.

The short break I mentioned above, will feature Mike’s wedding, which happens on July 6th. On the subject of the promised picture of Dolores’ baby Taylor; she prefers not to put a picture online. Please don’t be too disappointed, I think it is understandable. We will have some new band pictures for you soon (from France), so as soon as they are done, I’ll get them over to Ireland and they will go online. Well, that’s about all the news for now.

Thanks AGAIN for all the (e)mail, your continuing support is a great inspiration to us all! Bye for now,

-Fergal.

__________________________________________________________________

June 22nd 1998

Hello again, and this time greetings from London. We moved from the Studio in France (namely “Mireval”) to a studio here in England. We felt that we needed a change from the beautiful tranquillity of the French countryside. The vibrant city life will contribute to the final recordings for the forthcoming album. We have recorded twenty (mostly complete) tracks, not all of which will be used on the album, and those which don’t get on the album will be used as B-sides for singles.

We expect to finish recording in two to three weeks, and then start with the mixing. A bit of trivia for you……… the compilation album of singles that was due to be released in Japan, (but didn’t happen) would have been called “Seven Years”.

That’s about it for now, …. got to get back to recording!!!

Slan!

-Fergal.

__________________________________________________________________

July 15th 1998

Hello again,

We are still in London recording for the new album, and thereafter we will be mixing all the tracks. No definite date for when that will all be done. We will let you know as soon as we know!

Bye for now!

-Fergal

__________________________________________________________________

September 27th 1998

IT’S FINISHED!

I’m delighted to tell you that the new album is finished. The final mixing work has been completed by Mike Plotnikoff (who engineered and mixed our last Album, “To The Faithful Departed”), and is planned for release in February 1999. A single in January will precede the release of the album.

The album is as yet untitled, and the first single has yet to be selected. As soon as we know the titles, we will tell you right here!

Right now we are home in Limerick rehearsing for future live performances. On December 15th this year, we will be performing 3 songs live at the Nobel Peace Prize awards, in Oslo, Norway. I believe that this award ceremony will be televised live all over much of the planet.

Dolores and I are going to Milan in Italy in mid November this year, to present an award at the MTV Europe music awards.

Well, that’s about all the news for now! Tune in soon for more details! Noel is still trying to decide what he wants to give away in the competition he was talking about. (He was saying something about a pair of Doc Martens that are pictured on the back of our first album, but he couldn’t be serious, could he?)

-Fergal

__________________________________________________________________

October 19th 1998

A small correction! The below mentioned Nobel Peace Prize event happens in Oslo on December 11th this year, and not December the 15th.

Apologies for this mistake! I’ll have more latest news very soon!

Slan!
-Fergal

__________________________________________________________________

December 9th 1998

Hello again!

Yes, I know it has been a long time since the last update, but it is difficult to give news, when things change so quickly! So anyway, we are off to Oslo tonight, to prepare for the upcoming Nobel Peace Prize Awards, which take place on Friday evening, the 11th of December. We are scheduled to perform 3 songs, two of which you already know, namely “Dreams” and “Linger”. The third number will be a song called “Promises” which will be the first single from our forthcoming album, which incidentally, is still untitled! You heard it first, right here on www.cranberries.ie!

After Oslo, we are off to Paris to shoot the video for “Promises”, which will be directed by a gentleman by the name of Olivier D’Ahan , the same who directed the video for “Salvation”.

Release dates for the single(s) and the album are still not known exactly. It looks like the album will not be released until March 1999. One of the main reasons for the delay is the recent acquisition of Polygram Records by Universal.

Christmas is very close, and I’d like to take this opportunity , on behalf of the whole band, to wish you a very Merry Christmas!
I’ll write again as soon as possible! Oh, by the way, you can expect some major changes to this web site as soon as it gets close to the release of the new material!

You will just have to wait and see!
Slan!

-Fergal



Hits - 2,645 views | Print This Page Print This Page
2.02.2010 |
Posted by Dess

Другие Разделы

     Назад в главное меню

 

     Группа
     Биография
     Награды и номинации

 

     Видео
     Аудио
     Мультимедиа
     Галерея

 

     Лирика
     Перевод лирики
     Смысл песен
     Аккорды
     Мифические песни

 

     Дискография
     Видеография
     Сканы дисков
     Список всех песен

 

     Статьи
     Концерты
     Официальные письма
     Анекдоты

 

     Форум
     Гостевая
     Исповедь
     Ссылки
     Создатели
     Карта

 

     Log in

Другие Разделы

Письма 1998


Назад в Главное Меню
Письма от Долорес | Письма 1998 | Письма 1999 | Письма 2000 | Письма 2001 | Письма 2002 | Письма 2003

Перевод: Странник
Источник: Cranberries.com

Январь, 29 29th 1998

Хорошо, с чего бы начать!?! Последнее, что Вы слышали о нас, было то, что мы должны были прекратить наши концерты в сентябре 1996 года из-за болей в колени у Долорес, которое до сих пор болит. Было жалко прерывать тур раньше срока, но я думаю, что мы были рады получить этот отдых. На протяжении пяти лет у нас не было своего дома и от этого очень устали!! МЫ решили потребовать шестимесячный отпуск, что бы отдохнуть, устроить свою личную жизнь, привести свои нервы в порядок.

В декабре 1996 года Долорес записала песню для фильма “The Devil’s Own” и в феврале 1997 года Ноэль и Долорес записали кавер песни “Go Your Own Way” для требьют-альбома группы Fleetwood Mac. Я женился 16 апреля (лучший день в моей жизни), и две недели спустя мы собрались дома у Долорес в Дингле чтобы начать репетировать новые песни.

Мы много репетировали в течение последних месяцев и в октябре 1997-ого собрались в студии «Metalworks Studios» в Торонто, что бы записать демонстрационный вариант песен, с Долорес, которая была беременна!!

В течении двух с половиной недель мы записали пять новых песен, мы были очень счастливы этому. Трудно объяснить на что они похожи по звучанию, но некоторые наши друзья говорят, что они напоминают им первый альбом, но вы потерпите немного и сами увидите их.

В ноябре 1997-ого Долорес родила мальчика, она назвала его Тейлор. УРА! Открыли шампанское!
В настоящее время мы в Торонто, репетируем немного, записываемся, затем собирёмся на юге Франции, что бы записать наш 4-ый альбом.

29 января 1998г.

Мы в студии «Metalworks Studios», октябрь ’97.

Майк вступает в брак после восьмилетней дружбы со своей девушкой. Здорово это всё, инфа для «Самых последних новостей» из первых уст!!

-Фергал.

PS. Добро пожаловать на наш «официальный» сайт! Если честно, ни один из нас (в группе) не очень хорошо «шарит» в компьютерах, на уровне «технохобби», но не давно(!) я узнал от друзей
о сети Internet, я поговорил с ними, и они подсказали мне, как и что делать. Я посоветовался с Долорес, Ноэлом и Майком, и мы решили сделать свою собственную страницу, где мы можем рассказывать о нашей работе (сейчас во всяком случае). Так, я всё спрашиваю, что вы несёте вместе с нами, играем ли мы новое; но мы пытаемся делать это по возможности интересным, что бы вы получали новую информацию от нас самих.

-Фергал.

__________________________________________________________________

Март, 12

Итак, мы дома, в Торонто всё прошло хорошо, репетировали каждую неделю, записали новые демонстрационные песни в течении девяти дней. Они звучать довольно хорошо, но все ещё «сырые». К сожалению, я не могу сказать вам название этих песен, так как они ещё далеки до завершения, мы пока не знаем, как они будут звучать на новом альбоме. Так что потерпите пожалуйста!

Сейчас мы репетируем в Лимерике, пишем новые песни. 3 марта собираемся во Францию, где-то на пару месяцев, что бы записать новый альбом. У нас пока нет планов начинать тур, но мы договорились, что кое-где дадим несколько «сумасшедших» концертов (мы искренне надеемся, что именно с Лимерика начнётся наш тур).

Мы ждём когда Долорес восстановится после того, как родила Тэйлора, его покрестили 7 марта в субботу. Это был великолепный день, Ноэль и его жена были крёстными. (Долорес обещала выложить фотографии Тэйлора на сайте).

Также скоро появится расписание наших концертов, где мы попробуем наиболее точно указать все подробности. Так же сделаем раздел, где будут ответы на часто задаваемые вопросы.

Мы хотели поблагодарить вас за ваши отзывы и добрые слова о нашем сайте; теперь мы будем более «технически продвинуты» по мере накопления материала.

-Фергал

__________________________________________________________________

Март, 16

Свежая новость! Нам предложили записать песню для фильма «Секретные материалы», по этому случаю, мы едем в Дублин на следующей неделе, что бы записать песню. Пока мы не знаем какую песню будем записывать так как она ещё не готова.

От имени Долорес, Ноэля, Майка и от меня желаем вам счастливого празднования Дня Святого Птрика!

Пока

-Фергал!

__________________________________________________________________

Апрель, 1

Мы завершили запись песни для фильма «Секретные материалы»; она называется “What’s On My Mind” (написана Долорес). Мы записали её на студии «Windmill Lane Studios», в Дублине с Бэном Феннером. Он будет с нами при записи нового альбома во Франции этим летом.

Среди артистов Бэн работал с такими людьми: The Kinks, James …. и ещё много с кем.

Мы отправляемся домой в Лимерик (снова), вместе репетируем новые песни.
Это все, что я могу сказать на данный момент!

-Феграл

__________________________________________________________________

Апрель, 27

Этот прошедший уикенд был озаглавлен Майком как «Холостяцкая Вечеринка», уже по традиции мы проводим её в Ирландии перед тем, как один из нас вступает в брак. Там собираются только парни, перед тем как кто-нибудь вступает в брак (Майк), и его приятели остаются в городе на пару дней на вечеринку. Вечеринка, которую мы провели была растянута на уикенд, и за это время было выпито много чёрного Ирландского пива! Всё это включало в себя повод хорошо расслабиться.

Спасибо большое за ваши письма, что вы посылали нам! Много недовольных! Пожалуйста, поймите, что для меня и для других участников группы очень тяжело отвечать Вам лично… мы должны оставить группу и всё время отвечать на ваши письма! Хорошо, это неплохо, но вы должны знать, что я этим хочу сказать! Мы читаем все письма, и Вы найдёте ответы на наиболее часто задаваемые вопросы в разделе FAQ.

Обещанное фото сына Долорес всё ещё в пути!

Это не будет слишком долго! Я полагаю, что некоторое время не будет новостей, пока мы будем во Франции, около двух месяцев. Мы не можем дождаться, когда начнём записываться, все очень взбудоражены!

И так, на данный момент пока всё!

-Фергал.

__________________________________________________________________

Май, 11

С 3 мая мы находимся во Франции и продолжаем работать над новым альбомом. Должен сказать, что это здорово. Дела идут прекрасно! Мы хотим выпустить где-то ближе к сентябрю, и конечно, как только будет известна более точная дата, мы сообщим вам. Мы получили много писем (спасибо!), узнали, во всяком случае, что песня, которую мы записали для фильма «Секретные материалы» не подошла, и не будет звучать в фильме. Жаль, что огорчили Вас, вы надеялись её услышать. Надеемся, что выпуск нового альбома компенсирует это. Это будет уже скоро, осталось недолго.

На данный момент это всё. Благодарим за вашу поддержку!
А сейчас пока! О’ре вуар!

-Фергал.

__________________________________________________________________

Июнь, 2

Мы всё ещё во Франции, и у нас всё хорошо. Мы записали около десяти песен и пока очень довольны результатом. Мы собираемся остаться здесь до конца этого месяца, затем прервёмся ненадолго, после мы продолжим работу над новым альбомом в Лондоне. Там собираемся записать в общей сложности 20 песен.

Во время небольшого перерыва, про который я упомянул, будет свадьба Майка! Она состоится 6 июля. По поводу обещанной фотографии малыша Долорес Тейлора, она предпочла, не выставлять фото на сайт. Пожалуйста, не расстраивайтесь. Я думаю, что это понятно. У нас же скоро будет для вас немного фотографий (из Франции), как только они будут сделаны, я их пошлю в Ирландию, и их выложат на сайт.

Еще раз спасибо за все ваши письма, ваша постоянная поддержка служит большим вдохновением для всех нас! А сейчас пока,

-Фергал.

__________________________________________________________________

Июнь, 22

Снова привет, и на этот раз из Лондона. Мы переехали из студии во Франции ( а именно “Mireval”) в судию в Англии. Мы почувствовали, что должны поменять великолепную тишину и спокойствие Французской сельской местности. Оживлённая городская жизнь пойдёт на пользу при конечной записи альбома. Мы записали двадцать песен (в большинстве своём в конечном варианте), некоторые будут использованы в новом альбоме, которые не войдут в альбом будут использованы как отдельные би-сайды.

Мы думаем, что завершим запись через две три недели, потом начнём сведение. Немного новостей для вас………альбом-сингл, который должен был быть выпущен в Японии (но не случилось), был назван “Семь Лет”.

Сейчас пока так…. пошёл записывать.

-Фергал.

__________________________________________________________________

Июль, 15

Снова привет,

Мы всё ещё в Лондоне, где записываем новый альбом, сейчас идёт сведение. Точная дата выхода пока не определена. Мы сообщим, как только узнаем!

А сейчас пока!

-Фергал.

__________________________________________________________________

Сентябрь, 27

Он завершен!

Я в восторге, хочу сообщить вам, что новый альбом завершён. В конце, сведением занимался Майк Плотникофф (который создавал и сводил наш последний альбом “To The Faithful Departed”). Новый альбом запланирован для выпуска на февраль 1999г. А сингл выйдет в январе, перед выходом нового альбома.

Альбом пока без названия, и первый сингл пока не выбран. Как только название появится, мы сообщим вам здесь!

Сейчас мы дома в Лимерике, репетируем для ближайшего концерта. 15 декабря этого года мы исполним 3 песни вживую на церемонии награждения Всемирной Нобелевской Премии, в Осло, Норвегии. Я надеюсь, что эта церемония будет показана в прямом эфире по всей планете.

Долорес и я собираемся в Милан в Италию в середине ноября этого года, что бы вручать награду в Европейских музыкальных наградах MTV.( MTV Europe music awards.)

Хорошо, это почти все новости на данный момент! В определённом варианте мелодия пишется быстрее. Ноэль всё ещё пытается решить, что ему больше нравится, о чём он говорил.( Он говорил что-то о паре Doc Martens , которая изображена на обратной стороне нашего первого альбома, но он не был серьёзным, наверное?)

-Фергал.

__________________________________________________________________

Октябрь, 19

Небольшая поправка! Ниже упомянуто, что Нобелевская премия, которая состоится в Осло 11 декабря, а не 15 декабря.

Извините за эту ошибку! Я скоро поделюсь последними своими новостями, очень скоро!

-Фергал.

__________________________________________________________________

Декабрь, 9

Снова привет!

Да, я знаю, что прошло очень много времени, с тех пор, когда появилась последняя новость, но трудно сообщать новости, когда они появляются так быстро! И так, мы находимся сейчас в Осло и готовимся к предстоящей церемонии награждения Нобелевской премии, которое пройдёт вечером в пятницу 11 декабря. Мы запланировали исполнение 3 песен, две из которых вы уже знаете, а именно “Dreams” и “Linger”. Третья песня будет называться “Promises”, она будет на нашем последнем альбоме, который ещё не имеет названия. Вы услышите это первыми на сайте www.cranberries.ie!

После Осло мы едем в Париж снимать видео клип на пеню “Promises”, снимать его будет джентльмен по имени Оливер Д’Ахан, он же снимал клип на песню “Salvation”.

Дата выхода сингла и альбома ещё точно не известны. Но похоже альбом может не выйти до марта 1999 года. Основная причина задержки – приобретение прав на издание Polygram Records компанией Universal.

Скоро Рождество, и я хотел бы использовать эту возможность, от имени группы, пожелать Вам Весёлого Рождества!
Я напишу как можно скорее! Между прочим, вы можете увидеть некоторые изменения на нашем сайте, как только появится новый материал!

Вы должны подождать и увидите это!

-Фергал.



Количество просмотров - 1,677 раз | Версия для печати Версия для печати
Опубликовано 29.01.2010 |
Разместил Dess