Main

     Main Menu

 

     Band
     Biography
     Awards

 

     Video
     Audio
     Multimedia
     Gallery

 

     Lyrics
     Song Interpretations
     Chords
     Forgery songs

 

     Discography
     Videography
     Discs scans
     Song list

 

     Articles
     Gigs
     Band letters

 

     Forum
     Guestbook
     Cran-Confession
     Links
     Site Team

 

     Log in
     Map

Last

Song interpretations


• EEIDISWCW • NNTA • TTFD • BTH • WUASTC • Stars

Compilation: Stars: The Best Of 1992-2002
Labels: Universal Music Publishing, Ltd. (Apart from tracks 19 and 20 under Copyright Control, Ltd.). Tracks 15, 16, 17 are the property MCA Records, Inc.
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing, Ltd., London
Studios: Metal Work Studio (Toronto, Canada, 1997), Windmill Lane (Dublin, Ireland, 1998), Chateau Miraval (Miraval, France, 1998), Townhouse (London, UK, 1998)
Release: September, 16 2002
Producer: Stephen Street (tracks 1-6, 15-20), Bruce Fairbairn (tracks 7-10), The Cranberries and Benedict Fenner (tracks 11-14).
Sales: 1,100,000 (for the first months of selling only! By now around 2.0 million.)

______________________________________________________________________

WORKING ON STARS COMPILATION

In 2002 the official site of The Cranberries announced the release of the first Best songs collection – Stars, in celebration of the date of ten years since the band had signed their contract with Island Records. The fans of the band were offered to choose the best song that was not issued as a single out of the following: Cordell, Daffodil Lament, Dreaming My Dreams, Dying In The Sun, Electric Blue, Empty, Fee Fi Fo, Hollywood, How, I’m Still Remembering, Joe, No Need To Argue, Pretty, Shattered, Sunday, Rebels, Twenty One, Waltzing Back.

A little later the ‘Hollywood’ song was removed from the list, as it had been issued as a single in France in 1997. And sp the best non-single song turned to be Daffodil Lament! That’s how the people voted:

Daffodil Lament – 36%
Dreaming My Dreams – 23%
No Need To Argue – 16%
Empty – 13%
Sunday – 12%

The band’s world concert Wake Up and Smell the Coffee tour continues. The Cranberries travel around USA and, while taking a short break (June, 3 to 6 of 2002), they record two new songs – New New York and Stars – in the Criteria Hit Factory Studios. The producer of the new songs was Stephen Street again.

On September, 6th of 2002 was Dolores’s birthday! (She wrote the significant ‘Twenty One’ song 10 years ago!) The singer celebrates in the studio of the radio station 2FM in Dublin. The Cranberries perform a short acoustic set where they play their old songs (Dying In The Sun, Ode To My Family, Linger, Free To Decide, Chocolate Brown, Zombie, Animal Instinct) and present the new single – the ‘Stars’ song. Dolores celebrated her birthday together with the guys, her husband Don and the DJ, Jerry Ryon (the whole bunch was enjoying a tort :) )).

September, 16 – the world premiere of ‘Stars: The Best of 1992-2002′! As promised, the album consisted of 17 singles, a song chosen by the fans and two new songs. It’s worth saying that a majority of the songs was reissued as the edited (cut) versions (radio edit).

The photos of the band were on Andy Earl again, same as the design of the cover was by Storm Thongerson with Peter Curzon. The photo on the cover is a road in Nevada State. Dolores: “It’s the road to Las Vegas. We gave performances here and we really enjoyed it. That’s why we called for our photographer, Andy Earl, who chose this path. It seems that it’s the end of the road, and there’s nothing left behind.”

In the special note on the booklet the band thanks all those who supported them, but on the first place were the fans themselves. They also thanked the management of Timeless Music, their additional musicians (Russell Burton and Steve De-Marshee), all those who believed in the band, the workers of Universal Music from Italy, France and Spain, thanked departed Danny Cordell who had signed the Cranberries with Island Records, and also all their producers (Stephen Street, Bruce Fairbairn, Ben Fenner) and Michael Plotnikov with Chenzo Townsend for the engineering of the albums. Special thanks were addressed to the channels MTV, VH1, Much Music, MusiquePlus, Viva and Channel V. And, of course, The Cranberries thanked their parents, spouses and children: Molly, Taylor, Donnie, Don, Rachel, Sophie, Kathryn, Jacob, Lorie, Jamie and Shioban.

The ‘Stars’ song becomes the first (and only) single supporting the album (and they shoot a fancy video for it).

On September, 16 they also reissued the concert Beneath the Skin: Live in Paris of 1999 on DVD.

On September, 24 Fergal and his wife Lorie got the second baby, the newborn child’s name is Nathan. At the same time, the Stars collection takes 4th place in Ireland and France (and the 1st in the French chart of compilations), 20th place in the British album chart. To October, 9 of 2002 the collection takes 1st place in Portugal and Taiwan, 2nd in Greece and Singapore, 3rd in Italy and Hong-Kong, 4th in Switzerland and Spain, 5th in Malaysia, 6th in Norway, 7th in Belgium, 10th in Mexico and 20th on the Philippines. This way, the compilation gets greater success in European and Asian countries. Sadly, the album didn’t get due promotion in America (in which the band blames their label, MCA).

On October, 16th of 2002 the world concert Stars – The Best Of World Tour starts. The first concert takes place in Olympia Theater in Paris, all the tickets were sold out!

To November, 11 of 2002 the compilation is sold in more than million copies! In the same day, the DVD Stars: The Best of Videos: 1992-2002 with practically all the official videos of the band and some bonus material is issued everywhere except North America. In USA the DVD is released on November, 26.

On December, 10 of 2002 was the last concert supporting the compilation (the 82nd), it took place in Hammersmith Apollo Theatre in London. Again, the tickets were all sold out.

In the beginning of 2003 The Music Room TV programme of CNN offers its audience to vote for the best album of 2002. The ‘Stars’ collection takes the honorable 4th place (which is good enough for a compilation) only losing to the highly promoted “monsters” like Coldplay (the 1st), Eminem (the 2nd) and Avril Lavigne (the 3rd).

On January, 21 of 2003 The Cranberries break their contract with MCA Records by the reason that the “corporative monolith” totally stopped paying attention to the creative ideas of its musicians. Noel adds that the band is happy to start everything from scratch and is looking forward, to its next decade in the world of show business…

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Dolores speaks about Stars: The Best Of 1992-2002

“If I had to make a diagram, I’d draw that the beginning of the journey was not in 1992, but earlier in 1990, 12 years ago! We got our first success in 1992-1993 when our first album was released; then we were gone in 1996, the year of TTFD release; after that we continued our journey: starting from 1996 I’ve spent a lot of time trying to find dignity and spirituality. Now I feel OK, I acquired the harmony in soul.”

“The difference between what I’ve got now and what I had before is that I am not under the constant pressure from the other people anymore, and the number of sales of our albums is not important to me. When our first album was issued, EEIDISWCW, we felt this pressure, we were just teens with no comprehension; now we’re grown up, and we have an opportunity to write what we want in our songs.”

“It is nothing more than a collection of our singles. A good disk to give someone as a present. It will let them know about ‘The Cranberries’. It has the most popular songs.”

“We’ve ended the cycle. It is an enormous life lesson, but it seems that we’re near the end of an era. And a new, quite different era begins. We were starting as teenagers, and then we went to America where we became very famous which was not available for many Irish bands. We did it! We were performing around the world, and then we decided to take a break because we had lost ourselves. Later we gathered again to get the joy back to our band, the joy we had lost when we were a super popular band. We knew happiness again, and it was like a new start, it was like we were teens again.”

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Interpretation of the songs of Stars

New New York
• This song was written by Dolores on May, 30 of 2002 when the band visited New York for the first time since the tragic events of September, 11 of 2001.
• Dolores, about the song: “I hadn’t seen the city after the twin towers were crushed. I only arrived there in May of 2002, when the pain within the hearts was leaving room for the will of restoration. All I think about new New York is in this song: the pain that gives birth to energy.”

Stars
• The first and only single supporting the Stars compilation.
• Dolores, about the song: “Actually I was walking along Kilmellock, around my home… You know, I’m talking about the children, about them being sort of challenge to your life. So well, then we (me and Don) had a fight practically out of nothing. When you have kids you become so busy that when you walk across the corridor you only say “Hi” or “How’re you?” to your husband. Well, it was just one of such conflicts. I left home all furious and mad. I took my daughter in the cob with me, we went to studio (it’s just near the house, where I play with the band), and so my mood was corresponding. And then I thought, what if the problem’s in me? I remembered the book I’d once read – “Men from Mars, women from Venus”. And so, I thought that maybe it’d help if I chill out. I wrote this song thinking that maybe I’m not that perfect, after all. I should sometimes show obedience, too.”
• Dolores continues: “I also thought, that there, here’s the problem: you’ve been married for many years, you discover new things in each other when you become parents, and so on. Do you? But the thing is, you should remember who you fell in love with at the beginning, and not try to change this person to fit your needs. That’s what the books are about, aren’t they? I guess it’s one of the most important origins of being a successful couple. And so, I had these thoughts in my head when I was writing this song. And in the end I ask myself, ‘Does anyone love themselves the way they are?” Is anybody perfect? I mean, when you look in the mirror, do you say: ‘God am I wonderful’? And you know well that no, you don’t do such things.”
• Fergal, about the song and Dolores’s husband: “Remember who you are when you speak of today. Well, he does!”
• In the video for the song Dolores wears a T-shirt with an inscription: “Government Issue”. It is a name of an American punk band from the 80s, and the picture on Dolores’s T-shirt is a copy from the cover of their album ‘Make an Effort’ of 1983.

This stuff was translated from Russian Version of our Site by Michiru.



Hits - 4,162 views | Print This Page Print This Page
2.02.2010 |
Posted by Dess

Другие Разделы

     Назад в главное меню

 

     Группа
     Биография
     Награды и номинации

 

     Видео
     Аудио
     Мультимедиа
     Галерея

 

     Лирика
     Перевод лирики
     Смысл песен
     Аккорды
     Мифические песни

 

     Дискография
     Видеография
     Сканы дисков
     Список всех песен

 

     Статьи
     Концерты
     Официальные письма
     Анекдоты

 

     Форум
     Гостевая
     Исповедь
     Ссылки
     Создатели
     Карта

 

     Log in

Другие Разделы

ИСТОРИЯ СОЗДАНИЯ АЛЬБОМОВ. СМЫСЛ ПЕСЕН


EEIDISWCWNNTATTFDBTHWUASTCStars

Сборник: Stars: The Best Of 1992-2002 Лейблы: Universal Music Publishing, Ltd. (Кроме треков 19 и 20, находящихся под контролем Copyright Control, Ltd.). Треки 15, 16, 17 – собственность MCA Records, Inc.
Выпускающая компания: Universal Music Publishing, Ltd., London
Релиз: 16 сентября 2002
Продюсеры: Stephen Street (треки 1-6, 15-20), Bruce Fairbairn (треки 7-10), The Cranberries и Benedict Fenner (треки 11-14).
Продажи: 1,100,000 (только за первые месяцы! на данный момент около 1,5 млн.)

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

РАБОТА НАД СБОРНИКОМ STARS
В 2002 году официальный сайт групп анонсировал выход первого сборника лучших песен The Cranberries – Stars, приуроченный к десятилетию с того момента, как группа подписала свой контракт с Island Records. В связи с этим поклонникам бэнда было предложено выбрать лучшую песню не-сингл из предложенного списка: Cordell, Daffodil Lament, Dreaming My Dreams, Dying In The Sun, Electric Blue, Empty, Fee Fi Fo, Hollywood, How, I’m Still Remembering, Joe, No Need To Argue, Pretty, Shattered, Sunday, Rebels, Twenty One, Waltzing Back.

Чуть позднее песню Hollywood убрали из списка, т.к. композиция выходила в качестве сингла во Франции в 1997 году. В итоге лучшим не-синглом была названа песня Daffodil Lament! Голоса распределились вот так:

Daffodil Lament – 36%
Dreaming My Dreams – 23%
No Need To Argue – 16%
Empty – 13%
Sunday – 12%

Продолжается мировой концертный Wake Up And Smell The Coffee тур группы. “Крэнберриз” колесят по США и во время одного из коротких перерывов (3-6 июня 2002) на студии Criteria Hit Factory Studios в Майами записывают две новые песни – New New York и Stars. Продюсером новых песен снова стал Стивен Стрит.

6 сентября 2002 года – День рождения Долорес! (Ровно 10 лет назад она написала знаменательную песню 21!) Певица отмечает его в студии дублинской радиостанции 2FM. “Клюквы” дают мини-акустический сет и исполняют свои старые песни (Dying In The Sun, Ode To My Family, Linger, Free To Decide, Chocolate Brown, Zombie, Animal Instinct) и представляют новый сингл – песню Stars. Долорес праздновала день рождения вместе с парнями, мужем Доном и ведущим шоу, Джерри Районом (вся компания ела торт :) )).

16 сентября – мировая премьера сборника Stars: The Best Of 1992-2002! Как и было обещано, на альбом вошли семнадцать ранних синглов, песня, выбранная фанатами, и две новые композиции.
Стоит отметить, что большая часть песен была переиздана в отредактированных (урезанных) версиях (radio edit).

Фотографии группы снова делал Endy Earl, а дизайн сборника опять разрабатывал Storm Thorgerson вместе с Peter Curzon. Снимок на обложке альбома – это дорога в штате Невада. Долорес: “Это дорога в Лас-Вегас. Мы выступали здесь и нам очень понравилось. Поэтому мы позвали нашего фотографа, Энди Ирла, который и выбрал эту дорогу. Кажется, что это конец дороги, а позади ничего не осталось”.

В специальном послании на буклете группа благодарит всех тех, кто их поддерживал, но прежде всего – своих поклонников. Также благодарит менеджмент Timeless Music, своих дополнительных музыкантов (Рассела Бартона и Стива Де-Марши), всех тех, кто верил в группу, сотрудников Universal Music из Италии, Франции и Испании, благодарит умершего Дэнни Корделла, который подписал “Клюкв” с Island Records, и всех своих продюсеров (Стивена Стрита, Брюса Фейрберна, Бена Феннера), а также Майка Плотникова и Чензо Таунсенда за инжиниринг их альбомов. Отдельное спасибо группа адресует каналам MTV, VH1, Much Music, MusiquePlus, Viva и Channel V. И, конечно же, “Крэнберриз” благодарят своих родителей, супругов и детей: Молли, Тейлора, Донни, Дона, Рэйчел, Софи, Кэтрин, Джейкоба, Лори, Джейми и Шиобан.

Песня Stars становится первым (и единственным) синглом в поддержку сборника (на композицию снимают стильное видео).

16 сентября также переиздают на DVD концерт 1999 года Beneath the Skin: Live in Paris.

24 сентября Фергал и его жена Лори второй раз становятся родителями, новорожденного мальчика называют Натан. А тем временем сборник Stars занимает 4 место в Ирландии и Франции (и первое место во французском чарте сборников), 20 место в британском чарте альбомов. К 9 октября 2002 года сборник занимает 1 место в Португалии и на Тайване, 2 место в Греции и Сингапуре, 3 – в Италии и Гонконге, 4 – в Швейцарии и Испании, 5 – в Малайзии, 6 – в Норвегии, 7 – в Бельгии, 10 – в Мексике и 20 – на Филиппинах. Таким образом, компиляция пользуется наибольшим успехом в странах Европы и Азии. К сожалению, сборник не был должным образом раскручен в Америке (в плохом промоушене группа винит свой лейбл, компанию MCA.)

16 октября 2002 года стартует мировой концертный тур Stars – The Best Of World Tour. Первый концерт дают в театре Olympia, в Париже, и все билеты проданы!

К 11 ноября 2002 года сборник распродан более чем миллионным тиражом! В этот же день во всем мире (кроме Северной Америки) выходит DVD Stars: The Best of Videos: 1992-2002 с практически всеми официально выпущенными видеоклипами группы и дополнительным материалом. В США DVD-сборник выходит 26 ноября.

10 декабря 2002 года – последний концерт в поддержку сборника (82-ой по счету), он был дан в Hammersmith Apollo Theatre, в Лондоне. Все билеты снова распроданы.

В начале 2003 года музыкальная программа The Music Room канала CNN предлагает своим зрителям проголосовать за лучший альбом 2002 года. Сборник Stars занимает почетное 4 место (что совсем неплохо для сборника), уступив только раскрученным “монстрам” вроде Coldplay (1 место), Eminem (2 место) и Avril Lavigne (3 место).

21 января 2003 года The Cranberries разрывают свой контракт с MCA Records мотивируя это тем, что “корпоративный монолит”, по словам Долорес, перестал обращать внимание на творческие идеи своих музыкантов. Ноэл добавляет, что группа рада начать все по-новому, с чистого листа и смотрит вперед, в свое следующее десятилетие в мире шоубизнеса…

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Долорес об альбоме Stars: The Best Of 1992-2002

“Если бы я должна была нарисовать график, то я бы отметила, что начало путешествия началось не в 1992, а еще в 1990, 12 лет назад! Мы добились первого успеха в 1992-1993, когда наш первый альбом вышел; затем исчезли в 1996, в год выхода TTFD; после этого продолжили путь: начиная с 1996 года я провела много времени в поисках собственного самосознания и одухотворенности. Теперь у меня все отлично, я достигла душевного равновесия”.

“Различия между тем, чего я достигла сейчас, и тем, что имела ранее, заключается в том, что я больше не нахожусь под постоянным давлением со стороны других людей, теперь для меня неважно число продаж наших альбомов. Когда вышел наш первый альбом, EEIDISWCW, мы чувствами это давление, мы были всего лишь несознательными подростками; теперь мы выросли, и у нас появилась возможность писать в песнях то, что мы хотим”.

“Это не более, чем коллекция наших синглов. Хороший диск, который можно подарить кому-нибудь. Это позволит узнать “Крэнберриз”. Здесь наиболее популярные песни”.

“Мы завершили цикл. Для нас это невероятный урок в жизни, но похоже, что мы находимся в конце эры. Наступает совершенно другая эра. Мы начинали как подростки, потом уехали в Америку, и мы стали очень знаменитыми, что удавалось лишь немногим ирландским группам. Мы это сделали! Мы выступали по всему миру, потом решили взять отдых, потому что мы потеряли себя. Позже мы собрались вместе, чтобы вернуть радость в нашу группу, которую потеряли, когда были супер-популярной группой. Мы вновь познали веселье, и теперь это словно новое начало, как будто мы снова подростки”.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Скрытый смысл новых песен со сборника Stars

New New York
• Эта песня была написана Долорес 30 мая 2002 года во время первого со времен печальных событий 11 сентября 2001 года визита группы в Нью-Йорк.
• Долорес о песне: “Я не видела город после того, как башни-близнецы были сбиты. Я приехала туда только в мае 2002 года, когда боль внутри сердец сменялась желанием к восстановлению. Все, что я думаю о новом Нью-Йорке – в этой песне: боль, что рождает энергию”.

Stars
• Первый и единственный сингл в поддержку сборника Stars.
• Долорес о песне: “Вообще-то я гуляла по Килмэллоку, у своего дома… Знаете, я говорю о детях, о том, что они, своего рода, вызов вашей жизни. Ну вот, и тогда мы (я и Дон) поссорились по какому-то пустяку. Когда у вас есть дети, вы становитесь таким занятым, что, проходя по коридору, бросаете мужу только “Привет!” или “Как дела?”. В общем, эта была одна из таких размолвок. Я вышла из дома вся разгоряченная и взбешенная. Заодно в коляске взяла и свою дочку, мы пошли к студии (она рядом с домом, там я репетирую с группой), настроение у меня было соответствующее. И вот тогда я подумала, что, может быть, все дело во мне? Я вспомнила книжку, которую тогда читала – “Мужчины с Марса, женщины с Венеры”. Так вот, я подумала, что, наверное, мне не помешало бы немного остыть. Я написала эту песню с мыслями о том, что я, похоже, не такая уж и совершенная. Мне тоже следует пойти на уступки”.
• Долорес продолжает: “Также я подумала, что вот, в чем вся проблема: вы в браке уже много-много лет, узнаете в друг друге что-то новое, когда становитесь родителями, ну и так далее. Верно? Но фишка в том, чтобы помнить, в кого ты влюбился изначально и не пытаться переделать этого человека под себя. Об этом же книги толкуют, верно? Думаю, это один из важнейших залогов успешного брака. В общем, я написала эту песню с такими вот мыслями в голове. А в конце я спрашиваю, “А кто-нибудь любит себя таким, каким является?” Кто-нибудь совершенен? Я имею в виду, глядя в зеркало, вы говорите: “Боже, я так прекрасен”? И вы прекрасно знаете, что нет, вы так не делаете”.
• Фергал о песне и о муже Долорес: “Помните о том, кем вы являетесь, говоря о сегодняшнем дне. Вот он так делает!”
• В клипе на песню Долорес носит футболку с надписью “Government Issue”. Это название американской панк-группы восьмидесятых, а картинка на футболке Долорес – это копия с обложки их альбома 1983 года Make An Effort.

HotLog



Количество просмотров - 3,318 раз | Версия для печати Версия для печати
Опубликовано 29.01.2010 |
Разместил Dess